Turning Japanese?

05.13.04

Laine, Stripped

Alright, so I haven't updated in a zillion trillion years. Here's the scoop.

I moved into a beautiful apartment. I'll have David take some pictures soon and show off. I even have a sunroom, which is mad cool. I love my new place.

When I moved, I went through a weird time. Basically, I wanted to strip down to the bare essentials. I took only the select clothing that I absolutely can't live without. I didn't bring a television or my computer. I needed a clean slate, and that's exactly what I got.

TV and the internet had created an energy vacuum for me. I could spend hours a day doing stupid google searches and watching Lifetime movies. Now that I have neither a TV nor a computer, I make much better use of my time. My apartment is clean and fresh and spare. I've created many beautiful pieces of knitting. I walk every day. I read more books and study things I find interesting. I do not miss my TV or computer.

I just got my new library card today, and that is where I sit right now. I plan on dropping in once a week or so, and maybe I'll continue updating. Maybe I won't; who knows?

Now the basic stuff.

David and I are still together and still disgustingly cute and in love as ever. In November, he'll be moving into my apartment. For now, he's stuck in a lease he has to fulfill. I can't wait until we're living together. I'm expecting an engagement ring around that time. But I hope he'll make it a surprise.

My friend Arlen's boyfriend proposed to her last month in a very spectacular way, so David's feeling some pressure. Arlen and Gavin have been dating for 7 years and have worked together at the Gap the entire time. He jumped out of a Tiffany's box in front of the Gap and proposed. It's the most romantic thing I've ever heard. You read about those things all the time, but how often does it happen to someone you actually know? I'm so jealous in a happy-for-her way.

Anyway, things are bascially the same for me. I'm the same old Laine, minus a bunch of crap taking up my time and space. I walk to the coffee shop most mornings and do the crossword puzzle in the paper. I lounge on my couch and knit sweaters and handbags. I read big fat books. I listen to Modest Mouse and Jets to Brazil and dance in my living room.

Life is good.